Chiton
Traditional foods · Preparation not stated · 6 of 34 nutrients per 100 g
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Calcium | 121 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Iron | 16 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Vitamin A (RAE / retinol equivalent) | 495 µg | Canadian CNF |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.05 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.34 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Niacin (B3) | 4.2 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
About this record
Chiton is listed here under Traditional foods, with the preparation “Preparation not stated”, from the source record “Chiton, leathery, gumboots (Alaska Native)”. 6 of 34 nutrients have a value per 100 g (missing here: Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Sodium, Zinc, Copper, Manganese, Selenium, Iodine, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K (phylloquinone)…; missing is never shown as zero). Values are copied unchanged from the source.
Where it ranks
- Iron: 4th of 767 foods with a value (16 mg per 100 g)
- Vitamin A (RAE / retinol equivalent): 28th of 523 foods with a value (495 µg per 100 g)
- Calcium: 130th of 790 foods with a value (121 mg per 100 g)
- Riboflavin (B2): 123rd of 744 foods with a value (0.34 mg per 100 g)
- Niacin (B3): 146th of 758 foods with a value (4.2 mg per 100 g)
Positions are among non-dried foods in our data that have a value for that nutrient.
Sources and limitations
- Source: USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy: “Chiton, leathery, gumboots (Alaska Native)” (release 2018-04 (CSV)); Canadian Nutrient File (Health Canada): “Mollusks, chiton, leathery, gumboots, Indigenous” (release 2026 (14th edition, May 2026)).
- Amounts are per 100 g of the food as described by the record, in the units shown. The category and display name are assigned automatically and are being reviewed (About our data).
- This page has fewer than 8 nutrient values, so it is a thin record and is kept out of the search sitemap.
- Not medical advice; no recommended intakes are shown.